Chairman's Blog

The 2010 Awards

The Committee instituted a few more awards from 2007, along with the long standing awards for topping the batting and bowling averages. These vary from season to season to reflect performances of note.

Leading Batsman

Jonathan Neame           287 runs at an average of 71.75

Leading Bowler

Jonathan Neame           13 wickets at an average of 7.92      


Theo Allport                    100    vs. Bossingham
Patrick Mitchell              102    vs. The Turks
James Grant                   110    vs. Sandwich
Jasper Smallwood         112*  vs. Otterden
Jonathan Neame            115*  vs. Hollingbourne 

Hat Tricks

Theo Allport                   vs. Wickham & Stodmarsh
Toby Russell Vick         vs. St. Lawrence & Highland Court

5 Wickets in an Innings

Theo Allport                  5 for 20 vs. Wickham & Stodmarsh  
Jonathan Neame          5 for 16 vs. TDMB XI     
Jonathan Riches           7 for 25 vs. Bishopsbourne

Straggler Milestones and Other Stats
Nigel Snape became the first Straggler to pass 5,000 runs in his innings at Bishopsbourne

Matthew Schilder became the 14th batsmen to pass 2,000 career runs with his half century at Belmont against the Standard Athletic Club    

Nick Tapp became only the 5th Straggler bowler to have conceded 4,000 runs, for which achievement he is not awarded a bottle!

Champagne Moment
As ever there are a number of contenders for the Champagne moment (or moments) of 2010, notable among them were Jonathan Riches return catch during his spell of 7 for 25 at Bishopsbourne; Olla Tennant and Tom Wood bringing a whole new dimension to running between the wickets at Broadstairs; the rock like defence of Matt Smallwood and Mark Baker White to deny Sandwich; and the umpire’s decision that prevented a Neame hat-trick at Hollingbourne.  

However, the award for the 2010 Champagne Moment goes to:
Tom Wood for the stratospheric catch off his own bowling to complete victory at Belmont, while fending off a number of other aspiring fielders